Nobel Prize Series - India 2018 Science Impacts Lives

Nobel Prize Series
India 2018 Science Impacts Lives 

-Navneet Kumar Gupta 

The Department of Biotechnology, Ministry of Science and Technology, Government of India, has collaborated with Nobel Media AB, Sweden to hold the Nobel Prize Series in India for five years. The Nobel Prize Series is an exciting initiative which brings together Nobel Laureates and eminent scientists to stimulate innovation and creative thinking amongst young students of science.

The second edition of the Nobel Prize Series - India 2018 will be held at Panjim, Goa in partnership with Government of Goa on February 1-2, 2018. It will start on February 1, 2018 with the formal inauguration of the Nobel Prize Series - India 2018, Science Exhibition by the Hon'ble Chief Minister Mr. Manohar Parrikar, followed by an interactive round table “What Industry can do for scientists and scientists for Industry - and why” with the Nobel Laureates, industry heads, educationists, scientists and government officials.

The Nobel Prize Series, India 2018 under the theme "Science Impacts Lives,” builds upon the ongoing discourse on the need for restructuring science education and research in India. 
The Rashtrapati Bhavan National Session will be hold on Monday, 5th February, 2018 provides a forum for Indian philanthropists, academicians and industrialists to exchange views with Nobel Laureates on how India can enhance scientific research and education and achieve its goals of growth and sustainable development. Programme theme is Education, Science and Technology - Anvil for Growth. 

The insights generated in this session shall contribute to enhancing the capabilities and capacity of institutions and universities in the country. Programme will divided in two main panel discussion .First panel discussion on “Building Best Research Institutions and Universities”. Three Nobel Laureates J. Michael Bishop, Christiane Nüsslein and Serge Haroche will present their views in discussion. 

Apart from Nobel Laureates Devang Khakhar, Director, IIT Mumbai, Ramadevi Nimmanapalli, Dean BHU, Anurag Kumar, Director IISc, Rahul Mehta, Mehta Foundation, USA and R Venkataramanan, Dorabji Tata Foundation will also participated in panel discussion. Former Vice-Chancellor Prof Delhi University Dinesh Singh will Moderator of first panel discussion. 

Second panel discussion topic is “Linking Education and Research with Society”. Three Nobel Laureates Yuan T. Lee, Tomas Lindahl and Richards J Roberts will present their views in discussion. Apart from Nobel Laureates Rajiv Modi, Chairman, Cadila, Anurag Behar, Vice-Chancellor, Azim Premji University, Anuradha T.K., Project Director Communication Satellite, ISRO, Sunil Bharti Mittal, Founder & Chairman of Bharti Enterprises and K. Dinesh, Co-founder, Infosys, India will also participated in panel discussion. Manu Prakash, Innovator and Professor at Stanford University will Moderator of second panel discussion. 

The very first edition of the Nobel Prize Series in India was held in partnership with Government of Gujarat as a part of Vibrant Gujarat held in Gandhinagar from the January 9-13, 2017. (More details will be made available here)
Navneet Kumar Gupta is a science communicator working as a Project Officer (Edusat) in Vigyan Prasar-National institute of Science communication under the Department. of Science & Technology. Govt. Of India. He has deep interest in popular science writing for general public through Print and electronic media. Besides his twelve books, he has written more than 200 popular science articles. He has edited/authored/co-authored more than 10 books. He have been awarded six National Awards including Rajbhasha Award, Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of India He has had a long stint as Associate Editor, VIPNET news - a popular science magazine. You may contact him at -
keywords: nobel prizes series in hindi, nobel prize winners of india, first nobel prize winner of world, what is nobel prize, nobel prize 2016, nobel prize 2017, who was awarded the first nobel prize, nobel prize winners 2016